top of page

A Quiet Time

The last year has been a quiet one for me as far as writing goes. At times, I have felt like a dry well with nothing to offer. At others, it was that the experiences on which I wished to reflect were still too close for blogging. However, while monasteryinmyheart.com has been somewhat neglected, the monastery in my heart has continued to develop, albeit often behind the scenes of the joys and trials of the first year of marriage.

In February, I had the honor of attending the Solemn Profession of Vows of a friend from the Monastery Novitiate. The presiding bishop spoke about the nun’s call to a life of prayer, quoting Saint Therese: “In the heart of the Church, my Mother, I will be love”.

I found myself meditating on images and stories of countless wives and mothers over the centuries, women of deep prayer, hidden sources of love in the heart of their homes, channels of grace and powerhouses of healing radiating far and wide. That is what my heart still desires. I am no longer a nun, but like my sister who prostrated herself before God and vowed her life to his Love, I am called to be, and to continually become even more so, a woman of faith and deep prayer in the heart of the Church, my family.

After long reflection, I have decided not to renew my website subscription plan. It will expire this Thursday and will be offline at least temporarily. I am keeping the domain name with the hopes of restarting the website when I am in a better place to maintain it and in a simpler format.


I am so grateful to Mary Rose Kreger for her contributions! If you have not already visited her website and blog, please do: www.maryrosekreger.com. I am filled with gratitude for so many subscribers and readers. God bless you all!


Lisa Frances



This Iris was transplanted from the monastery when I first returned home. After three years and three spots in the garden, it has finally bloomed.

47 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page